

WELCOME TO MPHA'S 86TH ANNUAL PUBLIC HEALTH CONFERENCE November 13-15, 2024 Vicksburg Convention Center



MPHA President Karin Thurman Welcome to Vicksburg Convention Center





Board of Directors Officers

- Karin Thurman, President
- Dr. Tanya Funchess, Immediate Past-President
- Dr. Danielle Fastring, President-Elect
- Brad Martin, Secretary
- Sai Kurmana, MS Affiliate Representative to the American Public Health Association Governing Council
- Ashley Wolff, Treasurer



Board of Directors Members

- Jillian Harper-Peavey, Chair, Council on Sections
- Dr. Shawn Rossi, Co-Chair, Council on Sections
- Dr. Allison Ford-Wade, North MS Member-at-Large
- Robyn Breland, Central MS Member-at-Large
- Brittney Mosley, East MS Member-at-Large
- Dr. Jude Haney, South MS Member-at-Large
- Kaylin Winters, Student Representative



2024 Annual Conference Planning Committee



- Dr. Danielle Fastring Chair
- Lydia West
- Dr. Jameshyia Ballard
- Jillian Harper-Peavey
- Yolanda Pruitt
- Rebecca Shipp
- Dr. Jude Haney
- Karin Thurman
- Valerie Collins
- Dr. Kaye Bender



MPHA 2024 Board of Directors





Thank You 2024 Sponsors



Platinum Sponsors

- Mississippi College Department of Public Health
- Mississippi State Department of Health Office of Tobacco Control

Diamond Sponsor

Mississippi Public Health Institute

Gold Sponsors

- Institute for the Advancement of Minority Health
- Mississippi WIC Program

Silver Sponsors

- Converge Partners in Health
- Juno Health
- PatagoniaHealth



In Memoriam



- Ramona Beardain
- Danny Bender
- Mike Gemmell
- Wes Holsapple
- Harold Loftin
- Michael Moore
- Valerie Smith-Silas



Opening Plenary Session November 14, 2024







Agenda Items

Invocation



Presentation of the Flags



Welcome from Mayor George Flaggs, Jr.







Rev. Lazarus Taylor III Provides the Invocation



Vicksburg High School Jr. ROTC



President Thurman Presents Vicksburg Mayor George Flaggs Certificate of Appreciation



Dr. Daniel Edney Presents the Annual State Health Officer's Address





APHA President Ella Greene-Moton Talking About Creating Empowerment Zones in Communities



MPHA Conference Jungle Chase Break Rochelle Thompson







MPHA 2024 Business Meeting

Business Meeting Agenda

- Presentation of Candidates for Office
- Presentation of Topics for the 2025 Legislative Session
- Presentation of Bylaws Changes





Candidates for Office

President-Elect – Lydia West

- MPHA Affiliate Representative to the APHA Governing Council
 - Sai Kurmana
 - Shawn Rossi

The winners of the election were Lydia West, President and Shawn Rossi, ARGC

2025 Legislative Advocacy Topics

2025 Major Legislative Priorities for MPHA

- Support for the MSDH Budget
- ➤ Monitoring for changes to the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS)
- Immunizations
- Increase Access to Health Care
 - ✓ Support for Rural Hospitals
 - ✓ Support for Medicaid Expansion
 - ✓ Support Policies for Maternal and Child Health Improvement
 - ✓ Support Telehealth Policies
- Support Policies That Promote Mental Health Parity
- Support Policies That Promote Healthy Aging in Place
- Support Policies That Support the Mississippi Community Health Worker
- ➤ Promote understanding about the benefits of evidence-based interstate licensure compacts for a cohesive health workforce (Field of Nutrition and Dietetics).

ADVOCACY



MPHA Bylaws Changes 2024

- Article II, Change in wording of vision and mission to match strategic plan
- Article V, Deletion of the appointment of Members at Large on opposite years to give the Board of Directors more flexibility to fill positions that may become vacant in any year.
- Article III, Delete "If the annual meeting is held virtually due to public health or other extenuating circumstances" and leave "Voting may occur electronically using a process approved by the Board of Directors." This is a simple removal of redundant language.
- Article VI, Committees. Reword the purpose and description of the Communications and Public Relations Committee to more accurately reflect current practice.
- Article VI, Committees, Separate out Awards Committee from Nominations Committee to more accurately reflect current practice.





Career Fair





Career Fair Faculty

- Glenda Crump
- Rochelle Thompson
- De' Erika Blackmon
- McKeith Jenkins
- Lynn Buckalew, Valerie Bailey, Mary Ellen Stewart
- Kaiysha Fortson



Exhibits, Poster Sessions and Breakout Sessions









Rural Health Panel Discussion November 15, 2024





- Cassandra Brown, Moderator
- Ryan Kelly, ED, MS Rural Health Association
- Dr. Jennifer Gholson, MSDH
- Dr. Felisa Wilson-Simpson
- Joseph Grice, CHCAMS

















President Karin Thurman Presents Dr. Jameshyia Ballard , MS WIC Director MPHA Board of Directors Resolution Commemorating WIC's 50th Anniversary







Longevity Awards

Longevity Awards
Presented After Conference

- Jennifer Windham- 30 years
- Lannie Martin 25 years





Dr. Danielle Fastring Provides Remarks as the Incoming MPHA President

